Skip to main content
Executive Director: Jo Ellen Martin, CEcD      Office | (334) 295-4418      Cell | (334) 212-4119

About the Marengo County Economic Development Authority

The Marengo County Economic Development Authority is located in Linden, Alabama, the county seat for Marengo County. Set in the western part of the state, Marengo County includes the cities of Demopolis, Linden, Thomaston, and the towns of Faunsdale, Sweet Water, Myrtlewood, Dayton, and Providence.

Our History

The economic development authority was founded in 2008 by an act of the state legislature in order to provide a cohesive direction to the county’s economic development efforts. The authority’s primary purpose is to bring jobs to the people of Marengo County, Alabama and assist our existing businesses in order to foster growth within the communities. Since its inception, the authority has witnessed a significant reduction in unemployment in the area.